Hexed Was Next

I didn’t enjoy Hexed as much as Hounded, but I’m not sure if that was because of the writing, or simply that I didn’t have time to sit down and read straight through like I wanted to. I had things going on, and only had time for a chapter at a time, which may have been why the book felt so segmented to me. I just felt like some things were included in the story that didn’t necessarily fit smoothly into the greater arc. Like Coyote and the fallen angel and Mary. That felt like a separate incident from the rest of the book and its evil German witches and their deadly hexes. And then there was the introduction of the rabbi and priest and their shadowy organization, which I assume starts to matter more in future books. I didn’t have a problem with the individual elements of the story exactly. I just didn’t feel like the individual elements flowed into a coherent whole.
I wasn’t crazy about the depiction of Coyote–it seemed to me to imply he was lazy and uneducated, at least in the way he spoke, which made me nervous. But I am not familiar enough with Native stories of Coyote to know if that’s an accurate depiction of him or not. The depiction of the Virgin Mary was much more respectful: although I don’t follow a denomination with Marian theology, I was glad that the author depicted her reasonably, as pleasantly, powerfully good. In general, theologically I can never be comfortable wit these stories, but that’s my own little personal issue. And I do like that Atticus is respectful of other religions, as well as of the Earth.
Despite my quibbles, I enjoyed the book, and have Hammered on hold at the library. I think my enjoyment of the banter between Atticus and Oberon, and my interest in the various historical, cultural, and religious information woven into the story guarantees that I will continue to enjoy the books for awhile, no matter how impossibly awesome the druid and his apprentice may be.
I actually have a theory that the author, who I believe I read was a teacher, wrote these stories in part as a way to impart fun, accidental education to a wide audience. It seems like a teacher sort of thing to do, and often a very effective one.  Readers can learn history, mythology, culture, literature, and vocabulary simply by reading a fast-paced, fun book. I know it’s working on me. I now know the meaning of the word “esurient”, among other things.

About crystalsea24

Jane Eyre meets Lisa Simpson meets Belle from Beauty and the Beast meets Velma from Scooby Doo. I read a lot of books.
This entry was posted in Books, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

