Bean Dip for Bookclubs

I was at a girls’ night out recently, and brought some of my own gluten free vegan goodness along, raw carrots and broccoli with a white bean dip I made from scratch. It got rave reviews, and the recipe was requested by everyone. I know I’m not doing recipes on here much anymore, but this is super easy and super good–and perfect for those social events like book clubs.  So I had to share on here as well as with my friends.

I got this from an issue of Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food. The recommend serving is with veggie chips. I prefer actual veggies. When I make this, I  tend to make a double or triple batch, so there’s enough for everyone.  Following is my own version of the original recipe.

Herbed White Bean Dip

  • 1 can (15oz) cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2-3 tbsp fresh lemon juice (I split it–half lemon juice, half apple cider vinegar.)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small garlic clove, chopped (Forget that! Use as much garlic as you want! I do.)
  • 1 tsp fresh rosemary, finely chopped, plus sprigs for garnish (I was out of fresh rosemary once, so I used dried parsley instead. It tasted good to me. )
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, plus more for garnish
  • coarse salt and ground black pepper

1) In a food processor (or in a bowl, using an immersion blender–my preference. less cleanup.), combine beans, lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, rosemary, red-pepper flakes, and 2 tbsp water.

2) Process until very smooth, about 1 minute, scraping down bowl as needed. Season with salt and pepper. Transfer to a serving bowl and garnish with fresh rosemary and red-pepper flakes, if desired.

See? Extremely easy to make, and extremely tasty (and healthy) to eat. Do yourself a favor and make some now!

About crystalsea24

Jane Eyre meets Lisa Simpson meets Belle from Beauty and the Beast meets Velma from Scooby Doo. I read a lot of books.
This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Egg Free, Gluten free, Low Sugar, Meat Free, Vegan, Yeast Free. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

