The Best of Both Worlds

A very quick and enjoyable read. I got through it in one sitting. It was perhaps not the best book to read directly before bed, though, at least not for nightmare-inclined people like myself. It wasn’t too graphic or gorey or even too scary. It just seemed to stick in my subconscious and lead to some seriously bad dreams. I still enjoyed it, though.

I picked this up because I’ve been jonesing for more Gotham Central, but in lieu of that, have decided any crime graphic novels will do. Turns out it was a good choice, the best of both worlds. I got Navajo/ Dine culture crossed with FBI profiling and crime solving, with a magical/ mystical scary twist. I really liked Ann Adaki; she had a bit of an attitude, but she generally had good reasons for her attitude. She just didn’t take any BS from anyone. And Agent Haworth was likeable too, a smart, motivated, stand up guy in the tradition of Hotch from Criminal Minds (always a recommendation for me). The mystery was good and kept me guessing; although a number of my guesses were correct, several other big ones weren’t. I’d definitely read more about these characters and this setting, if there are any more.

About crystalsea24

Jane Eyre meets Lisa Simpson meets Belle from Beauty and the Beast meets Velma from Scooby Doo. I read a lot of books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

