Books vs Food

Obviously I haven’t been posting much lately. I keep trying new recipes, all the time. Mostly I’m working through Lindsay Nixon’s Happy Herbivore cookbooks. I love food. I love eating. I especially love eating healthy food that won’t make me sick. But I’m starting to face the hard fact that I don’t love cooking. I love recipes, and talking about food, and reading about food, and definitely eating it. I just don’t love making it. Audiobooks help me do it without getting too bored, but mostly I’d rather be reading.

That realization, combined with encouragement from several of my friends, has led me to consider changing the focus of this blog. Because as much as I love to share recipes, I simply don’t do it. Whereas EVERY book I read I write up a review of it when I’m done, to help others get an idea of the book, as well as to remind myself if I forget later. So if I’m already sharing these opinions on a social networking site, why not share them here, for anybody who wants to read them. Not just my fellow social networkers. If you’re not interested in book reviews, I understand. If you are, well, I read a lot, especially lately. I read a lot of young adult fiction, especially fantasy, as well as literary fiction and non fiction about cooking, the environment, history, biographies, etc.  So I’ll try to post at least one book review, or at least update–you guessed it–once a week or more, going forward. Enjoy.

About crystalsea24

Jane Eyre meets Lisa Simpson meets Belle from Beauty and the Beast meets Velma from Scooby Doo. I read a lot of books.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books vs Food

  1. Candy says:

    Great idea with the book reviews. I’m sure the recipes are great as well, except that I confess am cooking challenged and never make a single recipe that I read.

    • crystalsea24 says:

      Check out the Everyday Happy Herbivore. I think even a non-cook could make many of those recipes easily. One soup, for example, is salsa, a can of black beans, broth, and some spices, blended up and heated. easy and healthy AND tastes really good.
      I think there are just so many recipes online, it can be overwhelming sometimes. I look at them all the time, but I don’t make nearly as many as I read and bookmark. 🙂

Leave a Reply

