Southwestern Corn Chowder Comfort

I haven’t written in awhile, I know. It’s embarrassing. I’ve been cooking. No worries about that. Trying lots of new recipes. Just not remembering at appropriate times that I want to share the recipes on here.  So I have a backlog of at least ten recipes to share on here. But I’m going to start with one that I liked so much I have made it several times since we tried it, and even served it to company.  I found this recipe in a May 2007 edition of a publication called Everyday Food (“from the kitchen of Martha Stewart Living”) .  It caught my attention because it sounded delicious, and didn’t require much substitution to make it delicious AND safe for me to eat.

Southwestern Corn Chowder (from Everyday Food, May 2007)

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 scallion, white and green parts separated, thinly sliced
  • 1 medium carrot, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • coarse salt and ground pepper [to taste]
  • 1 baking potato, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 package (10 oz) frozen corn kernels
  • 1 can (14.5 oz) reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 cup milk

“1. In a medium saucepan, melt butter over medium heat.  Add white part of scallion, carrot, chili powder, and oregano; season with salt and pepper.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until scallion is soft, about 2 minutes.  Add potato, corn, broth, and milk.

2. Bring to a boil over medium-high, and reduce to a simmer. Cook until potato is easily pierced with the tip of a knife, 15 to 2o minutes.  Stir in green part of scallion, and season with salt and pepper.  Refrigerate in an airtight container up to 1 day.

Serves 2.”

Oh yeah, did I mention this is really easy to make?  The first time I made this recipe I doubled it, so we could each have a big steaming hot bowl of it for dinner.  I was out of my own homemade broth, so I used Kitchen Basics chicken stock instead. They are the best broth I’ve found in stores, for being free of unwanted and allergy-provoking ingredients, including yeast.  Also, I made a few substitutions, of course:  olive oil for butter and So Delicious original coconut milk instead of dairy milk.  All the rest of the ingredients were simple, so I just doubled the quantities.  I may have boosted the quantity of the chili powder and oregano too, as we like flavorful food. My only caution is to make sure the carrots are cooked thoroughly, as well as the potatoes–crunchy carrots, in my opinion, are a bit distracting from the soup.

I loved this soup. It seems too simple to be good, on paper. I like complex flavors, and sometimes I have to do a lot of work to make the complex tastes. But this recipe is so easy to make.  If you prepare the carrots, potato, and scallions ahead of time, you could literally throw the recipe together in minutes.  And then you would have a warm, nourishing, surprisingly filling soup when you’re finished. If you can have dairy, shredded cheese would be a satisfying addition. So would hot sauce. (Chipotle-flavored hot sauce is my favorite).  Warm cornbread, biscuits, or even fresh tortilla chips would make great sides as well.

About crystalsea24

Jane Eyre meets Lisa Simpson meets Belle from Beauty and the Beast meets Velma from Scooby Doo. I read a lot of books.
This entry was posted in Allergy Friendly, Dairy Free, Gluten free, Low Sugar, Meat Free, Migraine Friendly, Yeast Free. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

