Sweet Potato Chaudière Impulse

I was finally going to try my sweet potato lentil soup recipe. I really was. And then, while browsing on Facebook two nights ago, I noticed an article about not wasting food. I’m very much in favor of reducing waste, especially food waste, so I opened the article…and realized that it came with a recipe included. A very tasty looking recipe. In fact, I was so enamored of how good the recipe sounded that I had to make it that night. And I did. And it was good.

This recipe caught my eye not only because I love all the ingredients, but also because I had the ingredients on hand already. I was intrigued as well by the use of liquid smoke, and the author’s suggestion to use liquid smoke as a vegan replacement for bacon flavor. I miss the flavor that sausage and bacon adds to recipes, but keep cooking vegetarian for my husband. This possibility sounded intriguing.

Sweet Potato Chaudière (Mosaic Kitchen, February 23, 2011)

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 cup chopped white onion
  • ½ cup chopped red bell pepper
  • ½ cup chopped pablano or green bell pepper
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • ¼ teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 4 cups low sodium vegetable broth
  • 2 cups frozen corn
  • 1 cup unsweetened So Delicious Coconut Milk
  • 1 teaspoon liquid smoke

“In bottom of soup pot, soften the onion in the vegetable oil over medium heat until translucent. Stir in the peppers and celery and continue to sauté for 3 minutes before stirring in the sweet potatoes, cumin, black pepper and broth.

Bring soup to a boil, reduce heat to simmer and cover for 15 minutes. Stir in the corn and continue simmering for 5 more minutes, or until potatoes are soft. Remove from heat and stir in the coconut milk beverage and liquid smoke. Serve immediately.”

Makes 8 cups.

The recipe was relatively easy to make, aside from cutting up the sweet potato and celery. The sweet potato task would have been much easier if I hadn’t bought the giant sweet potatoes on sale at the commissary. Peeling and chopping them up is always an extra challenge. But they were cheap, and they taste just as good, so I suppose it’s worth a little extra elbow grease.

I used some of my homemade broth for the recipe, and opted for green pepper rather than poblano. That choice also meant that I could increase the ease of making the recipe, by throwing in a bag of frozen chopped peppers and onions. I put in more than called for, since my husband and I love both peppers and onions, but you could certainly adjust to taste. I had So Delicious coconut milk in the fridge, so I stirred that in the soup at the end, with the liquid smoke, as directed.

The chaudiere was delicious!  The liquid smoke may not have made the soup taste exactly like bacon, but it certainly did give it an extra dimension of flavor that I have missed in my vegetarian food so far. I am excited to apply this discovery to dishes I make in the future.  The coconut milk was a good choice too. As substitute milks go, So Delicious coconut milk is a more bland taste than almond or soy, so it just makes the soup taste smoother and creamier, without a heavy coconut flavor. Brian and I both had seconds, and I was happy to have the leftovers the following day. I will definitely be making this again.

**I love So Delicious products. I just wish they weren’t so expensive. If you check out their Facebook page, they’re having a giveaway right now. Some of the daily prizes thus far have been nice. You might be able to find a coupon too. For someone living dairy free, especially on a comfortable budget, their products are a great discovery.  And, no, I’m not getting anything for saying this. I wish. I’m just sharing something that has worked well and tasted good for me.

About crystalsea24

Jane Eyre meets Lisa Simpson meets Belle from Beauty and the Beast meets Velma from Scooby Doo. I read a lot of books.
This entry was posted in Allergy Friendly, Dairy Free, Gluten free, Low Sugar, Meat Free, Uncategorized, Yeast Free. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

